Skip to content

The Role of Storytelling in Landscape Conservation

By Brenda Barrett August 31, 2020

The idea of using cultural objects or site-specific historic places as a way convey a story is customary practice in heritage interpretation. However, storytelling on a landscape scale is less common. Heritage areas and the United States National Heritage Area (NHA) program in particular have demonstrated the power of this approach to build partnerships and unify a region. More recently the movement to conserve landscapes at scale has recognized the significance of storytelling to connect people to the resource. More challenging is telling the less visible stories.

Naturecultrues Dialogue: Rural Landscapes and Integrated Management

By Brenda Barrett August 30, 2020

This NatureCultures dialogue explores rural landscapes where nature and culture intersect in myriad ways. These places have much to teach us about taking integrative approaches to conservation that bring together diverse values, disciplines and aims. Spanning a vast area of the planet’s surface, these landscapes and waterscapes serve as the foundation of economic livelihoods and food security worldwide, while encompassing an array of tangible and intangible cultural heritage values that are interlinked with natural values such as biodiversity, agrobiodiversity and ecosystem services.

Exploring the Landscapes of the Caribbean

By Guest Observer August 28, 2020

Palm trees, turquoise water and beaches are the idyllic images of the Caribbean promoted in TV. A wilder Caribbean landscape of nature reserves is familiar to eco-tourists Yet the perceptions of many of the region’s residents do not mesh easily with either of these landscapes. The challenge has been how to identify the significance of a larger sense of place for the local community, for the people who live there, not the images constructed for tourists. Read about some innovative ideas.

This Land is My Land: Rebellion in the West

By Living Landscape Observer August 17, 2020

Learn about a new book, “This Land is My Land: Rebellion in the West,” which traces conservative rebellions against federal land authority over the last forty years. How have public lands disputes evolved to encompass questions over the legitimacy of government action itself?

Forum on Public Lands in Utah and the United States West

By Eleanor Mahoney August 4, 2020

Watch a forum with eight scholars discussing how the meaning, use, and management of public lands has changed over time and jointly reflecting on what the future might hold.